Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the browsers below.

Internet Explorer 10, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

Volunteer Advocate
cf insights cf insights

Lawn Summer Nights

While Cystic Fibrosis Canada hosts the annual Walk to Make Cystic Fibrosis History and Shinerama, our community has really stepped up in producing and running their own events to help END CF. We will be profiling these different event series on the blog throughout the summer, to begin with, let’s talk about the fantastic Lawn Summer Nights!

The Event

To date, Lawn Summer Nights has raised over $2,000,000, generated awareness of cystic fibrosis among thousands of people who had li9le previous exposure to it, introduced thousands of young people to philanthropy and community engagement, and started a new trend that has taken everyone by surprise (us included!). Founded in 2009, LSN is a nationally trademarked and federally registered not-for-profit organization in Canada. The event is driven by volunteer young professionals who form each city’s organizing committee and supported by a National Coordinator as well as the Board of Directors.

Each city’s event brings together two hundred people in their twenties and thirties over four evenings in July. The participants arrive wearing fun team uniforms that honour creative team names, indulge in delicious menus of food and cocktails, all while reviving one of summertime’s classic leisure sports: lawn bowling.

 

The Idea

“It was late 2008 when I was living in Sydney, Australia, with a friend who was also originally from Vancouver named Andrew Dalik. We were both getting ready to move back home when our siblings and a few friends made the trip down under for a visit – including Andrew’s brother, Graham.

In Australia, barefoot bowls – a more casual approach to the game – was something that you’d often see people in their 20’s and 30’s doing on a sunny Saturday or Sunday afternoon. It may have had something to do with the cheap club beer prices, but it was also a lot of fun. One day we gathered our friends who were visiting and those we met in Sydney and headed out to the Manly Bowls Club for the afternoon. It was a great way for everyone to meet and get to know one another.

Andrew, Graham and I thought about bringing the idea of casual bowls back to Vancouver, where we knew of a handful of clubs that often sat empty. We knew it would be fun and a great way to gather with old friends and meet new ones, but the idea was still missing something.

Later that day when we got back to our apartment, a friend who was visiting, named Philip Lyall, brought out a rough cut of his latest documentary titled 65_Redroses. We all gathered in the living room and watched the inspiring story of our friend Eva Markvoort, as she battled with Cystic Fibrosis and eventually received a double-lung transplant. As soon as the film ended, we all knew the idea was complete: we would hold a lawn bowling event as a fundraiser for Cystic Fibrosis.”

– Duncan Gillespie, co-Founder

Get Involved

Want to get involved with your local LSN event? Here is a list of each LSN city and how to contact them:

Victoria – victoria@lawnsummernights.com

Vancouver – vancouver@lawnsummernights.com

Calgary – calgary@lawnsummernights.com

Edmonton – edmonton@lawnsummernights.com

Saskatoon – saskatoon@lawnsummernights.com

London – london@lawnsummernights.com

Stratford – stratford@lawnsummernights.com

Simcoe – simcoe@lawnsummernights.com

Toronto – toronto@lawnsummernights.com

Ottawa – ottawa@lawnsummernights.com

Montreal – montreal@lawnsummernights.com

Charlottetown – charlottetown@lawnsummernights.com

Halifax – halfiax@lawnsummernights.com

share
Share