Did you know that your version of Internet Explorer is out of date?
To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend downloading one of the browsers below.

Internet Explorer 10, Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

All COVID-19 updates and resources can be found on the CF Canada website here.

Skip To Content
Volunteer Advocate
cf insights cf insights

Congratulations to the 2017 Research Grant and Award Recipients

Following the January 2018 Scientific Review Panel meeting, where expert scientists and CF community stakeholder representatives reviewed all applications submitted to the Fall Research Competition, Cystic Fibrosis Canada is pleased to announce the successful applicants. In total, 11 research grants, 1 Early Career Investigator, 3 postdoctoral fellows, and 8 graduate students were selected for funding. The awardees are addressing key research questions related to CF, from infections and transplantation to improved screening and CFTR-directed therapies.

Congratulations to our most recent grants and awards recipients!

Cystic Fibrosis Canada’s Research Awards recognize outstanding achievements and promising research projects by Canadian researchers and trainees.

  • 2018 Senior Scientist Research Award

Dr. Juan Ianowski, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK

CF airways fail to clear inhaled pathogens due to abnormal submucosal glands function and hyperactive Na+ reabsorption

  • 2018 Cathleen Morrison Research Impact Award

Dr. David Thomas & Dr. John Hanrahan, McGill University, Montreal, QC

Increasing trafficking of F508del-CFTR: a rational approach                                            

  • 2018 Robbie Award for Most Promising New Research Project

Dr. Marcel Behr, McGill University, Montreal, QC

Non-tuberculous mycobacteria in CF – new chemistries for old targets

  • 2018 Marsha Morton Early Career Investigator Award

Dr. Stephen Juvet, University Health Network, Toronto, ON

Control of the early-post-transplant immunological milieu to prevent lung allograft rejection 

  • 2018 Kin Canada Research Fellowship Award

Dr. Aiswarya Premchandar, McGill University, Montreal, QC (Supervisor: Dr. Gergely Lukacs)

Biochemical changes of the R domain during CFTR activation in health and CF 

  • 2018 Jennifer & Robert Sturgess Award

Dr. Ana Blanchard, The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, ON (Supervisor: Dr. Valerie Waters)

Understanding risk factors for pulmonary exacerbation treated with oral antibiotics in patients with CF