Skip To Content
Volunteer Advocate

Volunteer Awards Program

The contributions of Cystic Fibrosis Canada’s volunteer community have helped to change the cystic fibrosis (CF) story — and what a powerful, encouraging, and inspiring story it is. Thanks to their time and effort, we advanced research and care that has more than doubled life expectancy for a Canadian born with cystic fibrosis and brought CF to the forefront of Canadian and regional conversations.  Today, thousands of volunteers help Cystic Fibrosis Canada, generously donating their time and energy to support the important work we do to realize our vision of a day when no individual or family will be affected by this disease.

The Volunteer Awards Program recognizes and honours individuals, groups and organizations whose volunteer contributions to Cystic Fibrosis Canada and its local chapters have made a significant impact on the lives of individuals with cystic fibrosis. 

2021 national award recipients 

It is only through the commitment, courage and passion of our outstanding volunteers that we continue to improve the lives of Canadians living with cystic fibrosis (CF). Our volunteers take time from their busy lives to help make a difference in the CF community. Congratulations to the 2021 National Award recipients, together we are making a difference in the lives of Canadians impacted by cystic fibrosis.

The “Fred Blizzard Chapter of the Year” Award, recognizes a Chapter that demonstrates strength in fundraising, communications, volunteer development and partner support.

North Bay Chapter

Honours some of CF Canada’s most precious volunteers who have contributed in the fight against CF on a local, regional, and national basis for a minimum of 15 years. Recognizes an individual who has had a tremendous and long-lasting impact. The recipient of the award must have received previous national recognition.

Jackie & Mitch LePage

This award is offered to an individual or a group that has made a national contribution to the fight against cystic fibrosis through their advocacy efforts.

Todd Homenuk

Sandy Stevens

The award is designed to recognize an individual (between the ages of 20 and 35 years of age) who has displayed outstanding leadership and made an exceptional, inspirational and/or motivational contribution to CF Canada. Their contribution must have inspired volunteers to become involved at a chapter, regional, or national level.

Terra Stephenson

Intended to recognize a healthcare professional who has demonstrated exceptional support to individuals or families living with CF.

Steven Kent

Designed to honour healthcare and research professionals who have consistently contributed to the organization’s mission. Recipients of this award have moved beyond their professional association with CF to wholeheartedly embrace the CF cause. Through their outstanding dedication and/or volunteerism, they have become pillars of support and leadership for the organization.

Dr. Mark Chilvers, BC Children’s Hospital 

Recognizes outstanding and sustained contributions to a CF Canada chapter in a leadership capacity by an individual, couple, or family who has contributed on an ongoing basis for a minimum of three years.

Tammy Strong
Nancy Kotush

Recognizes a chapter that has demonstrated overall excellence in the area of fundraising.

Toronto & District Chapter

Honours a family impacted by CF that has made significant ongoing contributions to CF Canada, through their continued fundraising efforts as a family.

Bennett Family
Beausoleil Family

Given to an individual who has made an exceptional sustained contribution of national impact to CF Canada for a minimum of 5 years.

Macrina Perron

Recognizes a chapter that has demonstrated overall excellence in the area of volunteer development.

Essex-Kent Chapter

Doug and Donna Summerhayes, founders of CF Canada, dedicated decades to the progress of CF research, healthcare, and disease awareness. The award is honours an individual with cystic fibrosis who has demonstrated an exceptional commitment of national impact to the CF cause. 

Mike Hamilton

Recognizes a young individual (19 years of age or under), who is a source of inspiration to others and has displayed leadership within the CF community on an ongoing basis.

Brayden Perron

Stuart Sanderson

The Julia award acknowledges groups or individuals who have made a sustained and ongoing financial contribution to the CF cause. This award is reserved for volunteers not associated with a chapter that raise awareness and funds through third party events.

Kin Club of Barrie



Information on the call for nominations for National and Regional Awards will be available soon.  

For a list of Cystic Fibrosis Canada National Awards including the eligibility and criteria please click here.


For a list of Cystic Fibrosis Canada Regional Awards including the eligibility and criteria please click below: